Recognition for South Texas Health System Hospitals

South Texas Health System hospitals have received the following awards and accreditations as a result of their commitment to providing quality healthcare:


  • 2018 Healthgrades Awards — McAllen Heart Hospital was recognized by Healthgrades for excellence in quality in several categories for the second year in a row. The hospital was named among the top 10 percent in the nation for overall cardiac services and coronary interventional procedures for 2018.​​

    • Five-Star Recipient for Treatment of Heart Attack — 2014-2018
    • America’s 100 Best Cardiac Care — 2017, 2018
    • Cardiac Care Excellence Award — 2017, 2018
    • Cardiac Surgery Excellence Award — 2017, 2018
    • America’s 100 Best Coronary Intervention — 2017, 2018
    • Coronary Intervention Excellence Award — 2017, 2018
    • Five-Star Recipient for Coronary Bypass Surgery — 2017, 2018
    • Five-Star Recipient for Valve Surgery — 2010-2018
    • Five-Star Recipient for Coronary Interventional Procedures — 2017, 2018
    • America’s 50 Best Cardiac Surgery — 2017
  • Accredited Chest Pain Center — Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care (McAllen Heart, Edinburg Regional)

Women’s Services

  • 2017 Healthgrades Awards — McAllen Medical Center and Edinburg Regional Medical Center were recognized by Healthgrades for excellence in quality in several categories.

    • Five-Star Recipient for Gynecologic Procedures — 2017
    • Five-Star Recipient for C-Section Delivery — 2015-2017
    • Five-Star Recipient for Vaginal Delivery — 2015-2017

Stroke Services

  • Level II Primary Stroke Facility Designation (McAllen Medical)
  • The Joint Commission Certified Primary Stroke Center (Edinburg Regional)
  • American Heart Association and American Stroke Association Primary Stroke Center (Edinburg Regional)
  • The Joint Commission Stroke Rehabilitation Certification (Edinburg Regional)
  • The Joint Commission Acute Stroke Ready Hospitals for Disease Specific Care ( South Texas Health System ER Weslaco, South Texas Health System ER Mission)

Emergency and Trauma Care

  • Level IV Trauma Center — Texas Department of State Health Services (McAllen Heart and Edinburg Regional)
  • Emergency and Trauma Care Advanced Level III Designated Trauma Services (McAllen Medical)

Bariatric Surgery

  • American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Accredited Bariatric Surgery (McAllen Heart)
  • Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Accreditation and Quality Improvement Program (McAllen Heart)

Learn more about these and other awards won by South Texas Health System hospitals.